Joint Waste Committee


Joint Waste Committee


Joint Waste Committee Logo Banner

Establishment of the Joint Waste Committee

The Joint Waste Committee is made up of elected Member representatives from the Cabinets of each of the following authorities: Eastbourne Borough Council; East Sussex County Council; Hastings Borough Council; Lewes District Council; Rother District Council and Wealden District Council.

Councillors appointed to the Joint Waste Committee:

Eastbourne Borough
East Sussex County CouncilHastings
Lewes District CouncilRother District CouncilWealden District
Jim Murray and
Jonathan Dow (Chairman 2017/18)

(Sub: David Tutt / Alan Shuttleworth)

Nick Bennett 
(Sub: David Elkin)

Peter Chowney (Vice-Chairman 2017/18)and 
Colin Fitzgerald

(Sub: Appointed when required)
Paul Franklin *

(Sub: Andy Smith) *
Tony Ganly and Martin Kenward

(Sub: Lord Ampthill / Gillian Johnson)
Roy Galley and
Robert Standley

(Sub: Claire Dowling / Graham Wells)

(* Co-opted without voting rights).

Objectives of the Joint Waste Committee

These authorities have established the Joint Waste Committee with the intention of facilitating the authorities in working together to improve the quality and effectiveness of the discharge of their waste collection functions under the relevant provisions of the Environmental Protection Act 1990.

The Joint Waste Committee will also facilitate the authorities to work in partnership with East Sussex County Council as the Waste Disposal Authority to maximise integration opportunities.

Timetable of Meetings

In accordance with the Constitution of the Joint Waste Committee, it is the intention for meetings of the Committee to be hosted in rotation around the constituent authorities. The table below gives details of dates, times and venues for meetings of the Committee until the end of 2018.

The Constitution for the Joint Waste Committee can be seen under the 'Related Documents' at the bottom of this page. Minutes and Agendas of the Joint Waste Committee can be found listed under the relevant year on the left hand side of this page.

Meeting Date and Time

Hosted By


Friday 6 April, 2:00pmRother District CouncilTown Hall, Bexhill
Friday 8 June, 2:00pmHastings Borough CouncilMuriel Matters House, Hastings - CANCELLED
Friday 27 July, 2:00pmEast Sussex County CouncilCouncil Chamber, County Hall, Lewes
Friday 2 November, 2:00pmEastbourne Borough CouncilTown Hall, Eastbourne
Powered by GOSS iCM